Warning
WARNING: The TrackAbout MetaWiki has been deprecated and is no longer being updated. Please visit our new TrackAbout Knowledge Base at https://supportkb.trackabout.com for the most-up-to-date documentation on TrackAbout and TrackAbout Mobile.

User Access Control

From TrackAbout MetaWiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
TrackAbout Feature
Feature Name: User Access Control
In Module: Core Tracking
Short Description Allows users to define the permissions for each user role
Available In:
← Back to list


This page allows for configuration of user permissions and roles.

Permissions

This section allows users to define the permissions for each user role (role names are defined on the roles page). Each permission describes a fine-grained logical operation, such as being able to access the administration pages, or adding/modifying a user account. You could say a permission represents access granted to a user to perform a set of operations.

User Access Control.jpg

Once you've configured roles and permissions, you can assign roles to users on the same pages where you configure user settings.

Certain permissions, pages, or features are not available to Location Restricted users. For these permissions you will see "N/A", or Not Applicable, where there would otherwise be a checkbox.

Roles

Roles allow you to fine tune the security and administration of TrackAbout. A role defines a group of users that have certain privileges as defined on the Permissions tab. Think of a role as a container for various privileges. You may define as many roles as you like and assign them to your users.

Users may belong to more than one role, but if the privileges between two roles conflict, the role with higher privileges will win.

Roles.jpg


Edit Role.jpg

Assigning Users to Roles

When creating or updating an Internal User, there will be a section under Website to assign a user's role. The user will need to be assigned to one of the available roles before saving.

When a user is limited to only specific locations/branches in the system, the system will require a Role specific to "Location Restricted" users. If there have not yet been any Location Restricted Roles set up in the system, the user will see this message on the Internal Users screen:

EditUserRole.jpg